Turning up the heat…

Some days I feel like the proverbial frog in hot water. I am, of course, referring to myself and our team’s Outrigger training regime. I recognize that this is part of a plan, but it seems that as soon as we start to feel somewhat comfortable with where we are then !CLICK!…up it goes a degree (or two). Honestly, I am not complaining (much). The human body and psyche are a fascinating duo working in tandem to try keep us safe and alive. Apparently, they must be slowly seduced into believing that pushing the body hard (and harder) is OK, little by little.

We have now added weight-training sessions at the gym, twice a week. Our coach has worked, in the past, with rowing teams, young teams. He has seen results from his coaching. As he so tactfully put it, he hasn’t worked with such an experienced group before but he knows we are up to the challenge. Not having been a gym-going person in the past, I am approaching this with “beginner’s mind”, building one step at a time. It really does help to be there with other team members to encourage just one more leg press. We are fortunate in our small city to have more than one facility to choose from, but right now we are working out at the Powell River recreation centre where there is also an inviting pool, hot tub and sauna for post-training.

The method is to explore (and stretch) your  capabilities by finding the maximum weight (working to failure i.e. not being able to go beyond a certain weight), scaling back to 80% of the heaviest weight and then, as the weeks go by, push and pull heavier with lots of recovery in between. After a warm-up, we have been focusing on using three machines – the leg press, the chest press, and the horizontal pull. As expected, there are some of us with stronger legs and others have good upper body strength. I am liking the challenge of pushing my own limits, not to compete, but just to explore.

Still, my motivation is linked to the vitality of the team and the goal of our “Big Race” (Tahiti) which is now just over six months away! Phrases from the book “Peak Performance” stay with me…”Think about why you are doing what you are doing, especially when you are feeling fatigued”. “Motivation is contagious”.  And “Harness the power of purpose”. As we enter the countdown week to Christmas, where there are many preoccupations and some relaxing days to look forward to, I am feeling pretty good about how far I and we as a team have come already. The new year will bring with it a new push…and after holiday feasting I have a feeling that my attention next will be that of diet and nutrition and the older athlete.

About b allan

Brenda lives in a beautiful part of the West Coast of Canada. It is still wildly inspiring out here. By observing, exploring and recording, we open up new possibilities for knowing ourselves...and open a window of observation for others, too.
This entry was posted in Outrigger canoeing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turning up the heat…

  1. Jil says:

    Enjoying your posts Brenda. Keep it up – you are winners no matter what .

    • b allan says:

      Thanks, Jill! Every time I pass your former home I picture you guys now on the beach ;). If you haven’t read the book, Natural born heroes, I think you would really enjoy it…

Leave a comment